What does “in a group with you” mean on Snapchat?

Just like other social media platforms, Snapchat is fun with more friends. Good to know, Snapchat has different features to help users add friends easily.

Sometimes you get a message in a group with you when someone adds you. So, what does it mean?

“In a group with you” on Snapchat explained

There are a number of ways in which you can add friends on Snapchat. One of them is adding someone you are in a group with.

If you add someone as a friend via this method, they will get the message “in a group with you.” So if you get this message, it means that you were in a group with someone and they added you from there.

There are also other ways in which one can add friends on Snapchat. See them below.

How to add friends on Snapchat

There are also other ways in which one can add friends on Snapchat. They include the following.

1. Your phone’s contacts

You can add your phones contacts as your friends on Snapchat. Below is how.

  • Tap the profile icon. You will find it in the top-left corner of your screen.
  • Tap on Find friends on Snapchat. You will be asked to sync your contacts
  • Tap on Continue

Snapchat will find those contacts with Snapchat accounts. You can then add them if you want.

Read Also: How to fix Snapchat videos won’t load issue

2. Snapcode

On Snapchat, each user has a Snapcode. It is a personal code which is unique to one’s profile. You can also use this to add friends.

When your friend sends you their Snapcode, you can scan it with your camera to add them.

3. Username

If you know your friends’s username, you can use it to add them. To do so;

  • Go to your profile
  • Tap on Add Friends
  • Enter the username of whoever you want to add in the search bar
  • Tap on Add.

4. Quick Add

In addition to the above, there is the Quick Add feature. It suggests people based on Snapchat’s algorithms based on mutual friends or other similar metrics. If you want to use this feature, follow the steps below.

  • Go to your profile
  • Tap on Add Friends
  • Tap on the + Add Alternatively, you can get Quick Add via the Chat screen. You will find a blue heading under your friends list.

If you add a Quick Add name from your contacts, it will say “in my contacts” under their name.

5. Add by story

Last but not least, you can add someone or be added by story. If you are added by story you will get the “added by story” message.

This is possible when you post into a group story, post a story in your own account and someone sends it to another person or if you are tagged in someone else’s story. In any of these cases, someone can decide to add you by tapping on your name.

Read Also: How to use two or more filters on Snapchat

Leave a Comment

css.php