How to clear memories cache on Snapchat and what happens 

Snapchat is a social media platform that lets you share photos and videos. However, the photos and videos you post are deleted after 24 hours. Luckily, there is the Memories feature that allows you to save those photos and videos you want to retain.

Like all other apps, Snapchat builds up cache over time as you use it. The cache is meant to help the app run faster whenever you use it. However, some of the cache data occupies a significant proportion of your device storage space. This might affect the performance of your phone.

So, if your phone’s storage space is running low, clearing Snapchat’s cache can help. This article will show you how and what happens when you do so.

How to clear Snapchat’s memories cache

For Android devices, clearing the Snapchat’s memories cache requires you to clear the whole app’s cache. But, for iOS devices, you have the option to delete cache for individual app features like Memories, Stories, Lens etc. Below is how to proceed.

On Android

  • Open Snapchat
  • Tap on the profile picture icon. It should be at the top-left corner of the screen.
  • Tap on the gear icon. This launches the settings menu.
  • Scroll to Account Actions and click on it
  • Tap on Clear Cache.
  • Select Continue to confirm the action.

On iPhone

  • Open Snapchat
  • Tap on the profile picture icon.
  • Tap on the gear icon to launch the settings menu.
  • Scroll to Account Actions and tap on it.
  • Tap on Clear Cache.
  • Select the app feature cache that you want to delete (in our case, Memories). Alternatively, you can tap on the Clear All button if you want to clear the entire app cache.
  • Tap on Clear to confirm the action.

Read: Why are my Snapchat memories not loading?

What happens when you clear memories cache on Snapchat?

Worries of what happens when you clear memories cache on Snapchat may be holding you from doing it. But, it is nothing to worry about. We have provided answers to some FAQs about the same.

Does clearing memories cache delete your Snapchat files?

No. When you clear your Snapchat cache, only data or files that were saved automatically will be deleted. These are the files that Snapchat saved on your device without your knowledge.

So data from your Snapchat account and photos/videos saved on your device won’t be deleted.

What happens to chats and saved messages?

Your chats and saved messages also won’t be deleted when you clear Memories cache.

When should you clear Snapchat cache?

You should clear Snapchat cache when your device’s storage space is running out or when a disk is full prompt is displayed whenever you try to use Snapchat. Clearing cache on Snapchat frees up your device storage. This can help boost the app’s overall performance. you should clear its cache. Clearing Snapchat’s cache can also help boost the phone’s or app’s overall performance.

Clearing memories cache can help boost your phone’s performance. We hope that this article helps you to do so. If you have any questions about the same, let us know in the comments section.

Read: Ways to remove captions from Snapchat pictures

Tags:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

css.php
iMentality